Annual Reports

The American Epilepsy Society deeply appreciates all the ways that members, donors, grantmakers, industry supporters, volunteers, and others make our work possible. Thank you for all you do.


AES By the Numbers 2018AES By the Numbers 2019AES By the Numbers 2020


Click to enlarge [PDF]


Click to enlarge [PDF]

by the numbers


Click to enlarge [PDF]

2023 Donors

Legacy Circle arrow_drop_down
Vicki D. Anderson*
Nancy M. Andrews Estate*
Peter & Suzanne Berry Family Trust
Donna M. Brastine Irrevocable Trust*
Carol Lee Boukather*
Arthur John Carlson*
Lois M. Catano Trust*
Ellen Sue Clark*
Mary Winifred Dilbeck *
Fairbanks Revocable Living Trust*
Henry M. Fenton Trust*
Dr. Robert and Donna Fisher
Evangeline Amelia Fowler Estate*
Eugene H. Hussey Revocable Trust *
Barbara Johnson *
William Wayne Kizer Trust*
Charles Robert Morhauser *
Donald C. Parrott Trust *
Lorraine M. Parrott Trust *
Sarah Penry*
Drs. Michael D. Privitera and Marcia Kaplan
Anne Rubin Trust*
Anna L. Scovell*
Kira Sergievsky Trust*
Dennis A. Sokol
Dorothy R. Talbert Revocable Trust*

Richard L. Zambrano Irrevocable Trust

* Deceased

Gifts received between November 1, 2022 and October 31, 2023.
Contributors are listed alphabetically by last name.

Innovators Circle arrow_drop_down
Estate of Carol Lee Boukather
Benevity Community Impact Fund
Aaron L. Cardon, MD
Arthur Cukiert, MD, PhD

Robert B. Duckrow, MD and Elizabeth Duckrow, MS
Yssa D. DeWoody, PhD
Rosalyn and Irwin Engelman Philanthropic Fund
Howard P. Goodkin, MD, PhD, FAES

Robert E. Hogan, MD, FAES
Barbara C. Jobst, MD, PhD, FAES
Ilo E. Leppik, MD
Eli M. Mizrahi, MD, FAES
Eileen M. Murray, MM, CAE
Manish N. Patel, PhD
Martin D. Penry
Serge Pierre-Louis, MD, MPH
Raman Sankar, MD, PhD, FAES
Shlomo Shinnar, MD, PhD, FAES, and Ruth Shinnar, RN*
Elson L. So, MD, FAES and Judy So
Dennis D. Spencer, MD, FAES
John M. and Joan F. Thalheimer Family Charitable Foundation
William H. Theodore, MD, FAES
Azreena Thomas, MD, FAES
Andrew Zillgitt, DO, FAES

Gifts received between November 1, 2022 and October 31, 2023.
Contributors are listed alphabetically by last name.

Discovery Circle arrow_drop_down
Taylor Abel, MD
Elinor Ben-Menachem, MD, PhD, FAES
Gregory K. Bergey, MD, FAES
Thomas P. Bleck, MD, FAES
Bob and Maureen Bonney
Amy Brooks-Kayal, MD, FAES
Gordon F. Buchanan, MD, PhD
Charities Aid Foundation of America
Steve C. Danzer, PhD
Michael A. Frale, MAOL
Jacqueline A. French, MD, FAES
William D. Gaillard, MD, FAES
David A. Greene
John Huguenard, PhD
Lori L. Isom, PhD
Frances E. Jensen, MD, FAES
Jaideep Kapur, MD, PhD, FAES
Fred A. Lado, MD, PhD
Daniel H. Lowenstein, MD
Guy M. McKhann II, MD, FAES
Suzan Nadi, PhD
Jeffrey L. Noebels, MD, PhD
Edward J. Novotny, MD, FAES
Susan J. Oliver, MBA
Jack M. Parent, MD
Annapurna Poduri, MD, MPH, FAES
Roger J. Porter, MD, FAES
Michael D. Privitera, MD, FAES
Mark Richardson, MD, PhD
Jonathan Ross, MD, FAES
Mona Sazgar, MD, FAES
Renee Shellhaas, MD, MS, FAES
Kenneth Sommerville, MD, FAES
Shawna L. Strickland, PhD, and David D. Strickland
Jerzy P. Szaflarski, MD, PhD, FAES
Daniel J. Weber, DO, FAES
Samuel Wiebe, MD

Gifts received between November 1, 2022 and October 31, 2023.
Contributors are listed alphabetically by last name.

Explorers Circle arrow_drop_down

Pegah Afra, MD
Edward Avila, DO
Gregory L. Barkley, MD
Sandor Beniczky, MD, PhD
Adriana Bermeo-Ovalle, MD, FAES
Jeffrey Blount, MD
Leonardo Bonilha, MD, PhD
Elizabeth Boyce
David Burdette, MD
Kevin E. Chapman, MD, FAES
Jeanne Chin, PhD
Dave Clarke, MBBS, FAES
Erin Conrad, MD
Mark Cook, MD, MBBS
Marc A. Dichter, MD, PhD
Chris Dulla, PhD
John and Patricia Endicott
Evans Family Charitable Fund
Raquel Farias-Moeller, MD
Andres Fernandez, MD
David Friedman, MD
Frank G. Gilliam, MD, MPH
Alica Goldman, MD, PhD, FAES
Kevin D. Graber, MD
Anne Gramiak, MPH, MSLOC
L. John Greefield Jr., MD, PhD, FAES
Christina Gross, BSN, RN
Robert E. Gross, MD, PhD
Ryder Gwinn, MD
Hans Hartmann
Dora Hermes Miller, PhD
Lawrence J. Hirsch, MD, FAES
Linda Huh, MD
Nathalie Jette, MD, MSc, FRCPC
Emily Johnson, MD
Kenneth R. Kaufman, MD, MRCPsych
Sarah A. Kelley, MD
Kelly G. Knupp, MD
Esther Krook-Magnuson, PhD
Alison Kukla, MPH
David M. Labiner, MD, FAES
Fred A. Lado, MD, PhD
Alice D. Lam, MD, PhD, FAES
Jong Woo Lee, MD, PhD
Kristen Lonergan
Joaquin N. Lugo, PhD, FAES
Jamie Maguire
Laurence Martineau
Jesus Martinez
Brendan McCrea
Heather McKee
Edward Merricks
Ismail Mohamed
Victoria Morgan
Lawrence D. Morton, MD
Heidi M. Munger Clary, MD, MPH
Network For Good
Aylin Reid, MD, PhD
Kristen Riley, MD
James J. Riviello, MD, FAES
Dragos Sabau, MD
Kinshuk Sahaya, MD, FAES
Jay A. Salpekar, MD, FAES
Catherine Schevon, MD, PhD
Sarah E. Schmitt, MD, FAES
Justin F. Searle
Olga Selioutski, DO
Rani Singh, MD
Cynthia Stack, MD
James Tao, MD, PhD
Melissa Tsuboyama, MD
Ignacio Valencia, MD
Sophia Varadkar, MBBCh, PhD
Jorge Vidaurre, MD, FAES
David G. Vossler, MD, FAES
Steve and Janet Walker
Peter Warnke, MD
James W. Wheless, MD
Karen Wilcox, PhD
Angus Wilfong, MD, FAES
Thomas Wychowksi, MD
Wenbo Zhang, MD, PhD

Gifts received between November 1, 2022 and October 31, 2023.
Contributors are listed alphabetically by last name.

Financial Information

The American Epilepsy Society is a 501(c)(3) organization. Donations are tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law.

We advance our mission through careful and thoughtful stewardship of all sources of revenue. Click here to view AES financial information.